Veggies in the Front Yard

suburban garden zone 4

Image

One year ago today, I took this picture of the boys “helping” me plant corn at our community garden plot. Since we didn’t till our plot in the spring before planting, it ended-up looking like this:Image

The weeds were impossible to keep-up with. If I did it again, I would rent a tiller in the spring and improve my mulching methods as a start. Since the plot was very far from available parking, hauling tools, materials, and water in and out was difficult even without having three young children in tow.

Last fall at “clean-out” time, I decided to create more space for edibles at home and ditch the community plot.

Since my home is south-facing, the front yard offers the only full-sun gardening space. We added three new 4 x 4 raised beds right along the curb.

Image

I planted marigold, nasturtium, and basil seeds along the street-side in rows. The…

View original post 190 more words

Leave a Reply

