Bleeding Hearts…Springtime Legends

Fork Lore

Memories of Bleeding Hearts in my Mother’s garden are vivid. Planting these beauties in my shade garden was a must when we moved into our home many years ago.  Each year I look forward to their spring blooms and the memories they bring. Delicate little white and red hearts dangling from their tender stems, blowing in the breeze in my yard are precious.

My Mother used to take a  blossom from the plant and fold down the bottom of the heart to create what appears to be a girl in a pretty red skirt.

Bleeding Heart Blossom Bleeding Heart Blossom

Bleeding Heart Girl in Dress Bleeding Heart Girl in Dress

In playing this game with my girls, I discovered that if you fold the petal down a little more you now have a young boy in his pants.

IMG_2277 White Bleeding Heart Boy

When I decided to post about the beloved Bleeding Heart, I did some research and discovered…

View original post 381 more words

Leave a Reply

